But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a fraction of a penny… she, poor as she is, has given everything she has. Mark 12:42

One of the most controversial subjects that comes up especially during an election year is that of welfare and government assistance. I have recently seen multiple social media posts with loved ones who have opinions on both sides. “Why do so many people act like welfare is a handout to people who won’t work?” This was one of the questions that was asked. This question sank in because this is something I’ve thought for a long time. I’ve never needed assistance so my view on it has always been skewed. It wasn’t until someone I know couldn’t get the assistance she truly needs that I started thinking about what God has to say about this.

Caesar

Maybe our thought process about this subject is completely wrong. Maybe it’s not “Should people get government assistance or not?” but “How can I help?” One of the biggest problems we have in society on the “pro vs. against” sides is not right and wrong but it’s a heart problem. I may not be able to change a non-believer’s heart but I can speak to the christians who believe the Word of God is the Truth. Matthew 25:40 is a verse we are all at least familiar with.

The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

If we stopped worrying and judging those who take assistance and give with a loving heart, we start to live like the widow. It’s not about how much you give but about how you give. Are you giving the minimum because Uncle Sam takes it? Or are you giving beyond what’s “comfortable” and with a joyful heart because God tells us to?

After all, everything you own was given to you by God’s grace. Everything is His. The very fashion of the tree that was cut down and Jesus was crucified on was there because He put it there.

